When upgrading ESXi,The difference between Upgrade and Install

  Generally, ESXi has very simple actions when upgrading,After booting with a flash drive,After selecting a few options that don’t need to be considered,Installation can be completed in a short time。But this time my HP server is updating ESXi 5.5 To 6.0 Time,Met one “Mellanox_bootbonk_net” mistake,Not only cause the update to fail,And the original ESXi is also broken,So I had to reinstall ESXi。

 

  During the ESXi installation process,After selecting the destination disk,There will be three options:

Upgrade ESXi, preserve VMFS datastore  # 更新 ESXi,並保留 VM。    Install ESXi, preserve VMFS datastore  # 重新安裝 ESXi,並保留 VM。    Install ESXi, overwrite VMFS datastore  # 重新安裝 ESXi,並清除 VM。

 

   Normal situation will choose the first one,And because I have failed to upgrade,And cause damage to the original ESXi,So only in the second、Three options to choose。After querying relevant information,Since the ESXi I chose is the local hard drive installed on the server,And VMs are placed in Storage,And then connect with fiber,So when I select "Local Disk",The three options that jumped out,The second and the third are the same to me,Because he will erase my local disk,But my local disk does not contain any VMs。

 

   here will suggest when choosing a disk,You can press F1 first to view detailed information,In addition to telling whether the selected disk already has ESXi,It also lists the name of its datastore,It can be used to determine which datastore will be affected。

 

I, for one,What he showed is the local datastore,Instead of on Storage。If you still don't worry,Most foreign countries will suggest to unplug the optical fiber directly,So no matter which one you choose,You can ensure that your Storage datastore will never go wrong。

 

   Its practical reinstallation method does not take much longer than the update,Maybe my environment is relatively simple,After the installation is complete,I mainly set up the following items,You can let ESXi Server go back to work:

◎ Management IP。
◎ vSwitch settings。
◎ Authorized assignment。
◎ NTP settings。
◎ FQDN setting (DNS and routing)。
◎ Pull into the vCenter cluster。

 

Other,About HP server upgrade ESXi encountered “Mellanox_bootbonk_net” Drive conflict error,I found it on the Internet afterwardsRelated teaching,This article is in 5.5 Rise 6.5 Encountered,And there is a step-by-step instruction on how to judge whether the existing ESXi uses this driver,And how to remove it,Very detailed。

 

【參考連結】

2 Responses

  1. Upgrade ESXi through vCenter Update Manager 6.0 To 6.5 | Old Sen Chang Tan Says |

    […]    Before upgrading the ESXi host,Are all installed as bootable flash drives,This method is intuitive,No difficulty,So only when something went wrong,Wrote an article ``When upgrading ESXi,The difference between Upgrade and Install"。Originally intended to be on the ESXi host 6.0 Rise to 6.5 Time,Also brewed in the same way,But because when looking for information,I found what I encountered during the previous upgrade “Mellanox_bootbonk_net” problem,It can be discovered in advance in the Update Manager of vCSA,So I feel it is necessary to make good use of this new update tool,This time I will use Update Manager to upgrade。 […]

  2. vSphere 5.5 Update to 7.0 | Old Sen Chang Tan Says |

    […] When upgrading ESXi,The difference between Upgrade and Install。 ◎ Install vCenter Server Appliance […]

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

升級 ESXi 時,Upgrade 與 Install 的差異

  一般 ESXi 在升級時動作很簡單,用隨身碟開機後,點幾個不太需要思考的選項後,短時間內即可完成安裝。不過這次我的 HP 伺服器在更新 ESXi 5.5 至 6.0 時,遇到了一個 “Mellanox_bootbonk_net” 的錯誤,不僅導致更新失敗,且原本的 ESXi 也壞掉,因此只好重新安裝 ESXi。

 

  在 ESXi 安裝過程中,選好目的磁碟後,會有三個選項:

Upgrade ESXi, preserve VMFS datastore
# 更新 ESXi,並保留 VM。

Install ESXi, preserve VMFS datastore
# 重新安裝 ESXi,並保留 VM。

Install ESXi, overwrite VMFS datastore
# 重新安裝 ESXi,並清除 VM。

 

  正常的狀況會選擇第一個,而由於我已升級失敗,且導致原有 ESXi 損毀,因此只能在第二、三個選項做選擇。查詢相關資料後,由於我選的 ESXi 是裝在伺服器的本機硬碟,而 VMs 是放在 Storage,再以光纖界接,因此當我選擇「本機磁碟」後,跳出的這三個選項,第二跟第三對我來說是一樣的,因為他清除的會是我本機磁碟,但我的本機磁碟並未包含任何 VMs。

 

  這邊會建議在選擇磁碟時,可以先按 F1 查看詳細資訊,裡頭除了會告知所選磁碟是否已有 ESXi 外,還會列出其 datastore 的名稱,可藉此判斷會影響到哪個 datastore。

 

以我來說,他秀出的就是本機的 datastore,而不是 Storage 上的。如果還是不放心的話,國外大部分會建議就直接把光纖拔掉,這樣不管你選哪個,就可以確保你 Storage 的 datastore 絕不會出事了。

 

  其實用重新安裝的方式也沒有比更新多花很多時間,可能是我的環境相對單純,在完成安裝後,我主要是設定下列這些項目,即可讓 ESXi Server 回去上工:

◎ Management IP。
◎ vSwitch 設定。
◎ 授權指派。
◎ NTP 設定。
◎ FQDN 設定 (DNS和路由)。
◎ 拉進 vCenter 叢集。

 

  另外,關於 HP 伺服器升級 ESXi 遇到的 “Mellanox_bootbonk_net” 驅動衝突的錯誤,我事後有在網路找到相關教學,這篇是在 5.5 升 6.5 時遇到的,並有一步一步教學如何判斷既有 ESXi 有沒有用到此驅動,以及移除的方式,寫的很詳細。

 

【參考連結】

2 Responses

  1. 透過 vCenter Update Manager 升級 ESXi 6.0 至 6.5 | 老森常譚 Says |

    […]   之前在升級 ESXi 主機時,都是做成開機隨身碟安裝,此方式很直覺,也沒有什麼難度,因此當時只有在出問題時,寫了一篇「升級 ESXi 時,Upgrade 與 Install 的差異」。原先打算在 ESXi 主機 6.0 升至 6.5 時,也如法泡製,但因為在找資料時,發現我先前升級時遇到的 “Mellanox_bootbonk_net” 問題,竟可以在 vCSA 的 Update Manager 預先發現,因此覺得有必要好好善用一下這個新的更新工具,本次便改以 Update Manager 來進行升級。 […]

  2. vSphere 5.5 更新至 7.0 | 老森常譚 Says |

    […] 升級 ESXi 時,Upgrade 與 Install 的差異。 ◎ 安裝 vCenter Server Appliance […]

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.